Page 27 - Plan of Organization 2015-0919
P. 27

In 1986, The Frances  Leiter Center (FLC opened in Franklin County also offering
               counseling to children ages 2 to 18 in the form of both Play Therapy and Individual Counseling.

                       In 1987, the Lehman Center (TLC) opened in York County as a child abuse prevention
               program through short-term crisis nursery care for children birth through 6 years of age.  TLC
               provides a safe haven for children at risk for abuse and/or neglect; as well as an Art Therapy
               Counseling Program for children ages 3 to 18; Parent Support Groups; and Case Management.

                       The CAS Board of Directors consists of  sixteen (16)  Directors.   Nine  Directors are
               selected and elected by the voting membership.  The balance of the Directors shall be considered
               at-large Directors elected by the CAS Board.  The Executive Director of CAS is an ex-officio
               member of the CAS  Board, but is not  entitled to vote.  Various factors are considered  when
               selecting and electing CAS Directors.

                       District specific requirements mandate that nine (9) of the sixteen (16) Directors must be
               members of the Southern Pennsylvania District Church of the Brethren.  The at-large Directors
               elected by the Corporation board may be persons of another Christian denomination, however,
               they have all the rights and responsibilities of those Directors from the Brethren denomination
               except the ability to serve as a Board officer.   Consideration to the location of District zones and
               CAS centers in relation to potential Director’s domicile is also given.   Finally, Directors must be
               at least eighteen (18) years of age.

                              (d)      Elizabethtown College.  Elizabethtown College was founded in 1899 by
               members of the German Baptist Brethren Church. (Named Church of the Brethren in 1908.)  The
               college was intended for the education of their own children and the school was to be open to all
               who desire to avail themselves of its privileges.  The founding brethren were members of
               churches within the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.

                       The Ephrata Church of the Brethren asked the District Meeting of 1913 of the Eastern
               District of Pennsylvania to consider the advisability of taking over Elizabethtown College as the
               property of the church and to appoint a committee to consult with the present owners or their
               representatives.  Said committee to report to the District Meeting of  1914.  This query was
               unanimously passed and a committee elected by ballot to represent the District in its conference
               with representatives from the College.

                       The ownership of the College was transferred from the donors to the Eastern District of
               Pennsylvania on April 25, 1917.  At the April 24, 1918 District Meeting, church delegates from
               the Southern Pennsylvania District voted in favor of joining in the ownership and control of the
               college.  The Eastern District of Pennsylvania elected eight trustees and the Southern District of
               Pennsylvania elected four trustees.

                       The College maintains a covenantal relationship with the Atlantic Northeast District and
               Southern PA District Church of the Brethren by honoring and giving witness to the tradition,
               spirit, and values of the Church of the Brethren.

                       The affairs of the corporation shall be managed by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees
               consisting of as many as forty (40) voting members but not less than thirty (30).  At least eight
               (8) members of the Board shall be members of the Church of the Brethren, and at least eight (8)

   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31