2008 300th Anniversary Committee Annual Conference Logo
Complete 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996
2008 300th Anniversary Committee Richmond, Virgina

Speaking at the podium is COB Moderator Jim Beckwith and to his left, Brethren Church Moderator Tom Schiefer, each taking turns to introduce members of the Joint Brethren Church Tercentennial / Church of the Brethren 300th Anniversary Committee and some of its sub-committees members. The Church of the Brethren (COB) refers to this celebration as the 300th Anniversary, and The Brethren Church (BC) labels it the Tercentennial.

Behind the Moderators from left to right are: Jim Frado (BC), Brad Weidenhamer (BC), Lorele Yager (COB), Rhonda Pittman Gingrich (Secretary of COB committee) Dean Garrett (COB), Jeff Bach (Chair. of COB committee) Leslie Lake (COB), Scott Duffey (COB P&AC Rep.) Dale Stoffer (Chair. of BC Tercentennial Committee & Dean of Ashland Theological Seminary, Jim Hollinger (BC), Vickie Taylor (BC), and Dick Winfield (BC).

In addition, Lerry Fogle was ex officio on the Joint Anniversary Committee as COB Annual Conference Director, Ken Hunn was ex officio as BC Executive Director. Amy Van Dyne and Tony Van Dyne were ex officio JAC as Administrative Assistants to Ken Hunn. The late Donald Durnbaugh served as Chairperson of the COB 300th Anniversary Committee until his death. Peter Roussakis (BC) and Roseanna Eller McFadden (COB) served on the Joint Worship Committee.

Comments & Introductions

Schiefer: Now we invite you to join us in giving thanks to those who have worked to prepare our denominations to celebrate this special anniversary together.

Beckwith: Please recognize the Church of the Brethren 300th Anniversary Committee, which has been at work for eight years! [step forward when your name is called] Originally chaired by Donald Durnbaugh, who gave tremendous time and energy to this work prior to his death, the committee has been chaired for the past five years by Jeff Bach in jovial, sincere, and energetic partnership with his very active coworkers: Rhonda Pittman Gingrich, Leslie Lake, Lorele Yager, and Dean Garrett.
Each of these committee members has been recognized for his/her innumerable hours of service with citations and gifts of appreciation presented during the Standing Committee meetings this past Friday. Those citations are now on display at the 300th Anniversary exhibit in the Exhibit Hall – I encourage you to read them there. In addition, Kristi Kellerman and I have served ex officio as liaison from the Program & Arrangements Committee, Rosanna Eller McFadden served on the Worship Sub-Committee, and Scott Duffey served as liaison from the Program & Arrangements Committee to the Sunday Afternoon Sub-Committee. Merv Keeney and David Sollenberger each had a hand in planning tonight’s Celebration of Our Missions. And Annual Conference Executive Lerry Fogle has worked very closely with all aspects of this committee’s work.

Schiefer: The Brethren Church Tercentennial Committee [step forward when you are named] has also been hard at work in preparing for this special joint conference, under the leadership of Chairman Dale Stoffer, Dean of Ashland Theological Seminary, together with Jim Frado, Jim Hollinger, Vickie Taylor, Brad Weidenhamer, and Dick Winfield. In addition, Peter Roussakis served on the Worship Sub-Committee. Brethren Church Executive Director Ken Hunn, Administrative Assistants Amy Van Duyne and Tony Van Duyne, and I have worked closely with this committee. The Brethren Church Tercentennial Committee will also be recognized during our General Conference sessions this week.

“They determined that Paul and Barnabas and certain other of them,
should go up to Jerusalem unto the apostles and elders (about this question).”
Acts 15:2

Activity || Information || Churches || Education || Literature || Genealogy || History || Greeting Cards || Site Map
European Origin || Brethren in America || Antietam Dunkers || Brethren Groups || 19th Century || FAQS